Fenris Quartet biography

The Fenris Quartet was born in 2012 from the meeting of four friends at the Lyon CNSMD and their passion for chamber music. During their studies, they trained with professors and great chamber musicians Agnès Sulem (Rosamonde Quartet) and Yovan Markovitch (Ysaye Quartet and Danel Quartet).

They will enrich their repertoire and their interpretation with other outstanding personalities such as Dominique Lonca (Debussy Quartet), Marc Danel (Danel Quartet), Isabelle Charisius (Alban Berg Quartet) but also by participating in public masterclasses with members of the Cambini Quartet and Danel Quartet. Eager to improve even further, they joined in 2016 the quartet class of Luc-Marie Aguera (Ysaye Quartet) at the CRR of Paris.

Winner of international competitions such as the “Tremplin” competition organized by the Paris Philharmonic in 2016 as well as the AEMC International Chamber Music Competition in Italy in 2019, the quartet is also selected for concerts with the music organization Musethica in Berlin for a series of Masterclasses and concerts in November 2020.

Curious and wishing to engage in international musical creation, the quartet to participate in many creations says that “Pause” by Irish composer Sam Perkin, “Nuo Dance” by Chinese composer Yiqing Zhu and more recently recorded two albums with the composer Lucien Guérinel in 2022 and Simone Tolomeo in 2023.

Attaching great importance to transmission to the younger generations, the Fenris Quartet regularly collaborates on projects in primary schools, in particular with the Fractales association and does not hesitate to offer activities at festivals or in partnerships with town halls.

The Fenris Quartet has already performed in many festivals and venues such as Arpèges in Gascony, The Royans-Vercor chapels, Sanary en Musique, Musique en l’Ile, Listen to Nature, Société Générale sponsorship (Pierreclos castle), Musical University Hourtin Médoc, Ecole Centrale Lyon, Goethe Institut Lyon, Prieuré de Chirens or the prestigious great hall of the Paris Philharmonic.

Pierre Alvarez

Camille Labroue

Vincent Verhoeven

Florian Laforge